How To Change Your Snapchat Username

Change Your Snapchat Username

Want to create a catchy Snapchat username but you already had one? Here are ways you can change your Snapchat username.

Snapchat is the most widely used app by millions of people in the world. This app has a number of features like chit-chat, video, and voice calls with friends and family. Snapchat has multiple filters that make a person good-looking, funny, and so on. But, sometimes a person gets irritated by using an old username on his account. However, getting stuck with a username on Snapchat for a long time that you do not really like anymore and you tried going to your settings to change it. Then, you might not be able to find a way to do so. Unluckily, this is not really feasible.

How To Change Your Snapchat Username

Moreover, Snapchat also mentioned that they do not allow to change the username due to security problems. So, there is no way to do it from your account. Nonetheless, there are some workarounds that you have to try out. So, you do not have to get stuck with a name you do not like. Without further ado, let’s get started!

Change Your Display Name

Change Your Display Name

The easy and simple way to hide your username is to create a display name i.e., displayed to your friends in chats, stories & everywhere else your name appears. Moreover, people will still see your username if they click your profile. At least, it will help to cover it up with something you want. To do so, follow the simple steps:

  1. Tap your Bitmoji icon placed at the top left to access your profile
  2. Now, tap the settings icon (looks like a small gear) placed at the top right side.
  3. Click the Name option placed under it to change your first and last name (it must be remembered that it is not necessary to enter the real name, you can write the name of your own choice or you can either use emoji to a username)
  4. Tap the Save option placed at the bottom of a screen 

That’s it, your new name will appear everywhere. The good thing is that you can again change it whenever you want.

Create a New Account

Change Your Snapchat Username

However, if you do not really like your username then, the only option is that you can take is to create a new profile completely. Well, this is not considered so bad if Snapchat enables you the option to transfer your data from your old account. Nonetheless, you can make a new account easily and still find your friends (via your old account) if you want a new username. Simply, make sure that do not delete your old account till you complete creating your new account. To do so, follow the simple steps given below:

  1. Firstly, log out of your original Snapchat account i.e., go to your profile, then Settings > click Log Out (also, opt to save your log-in info if want to get back in easily). 
  2. Now, on the main Snapchat page, tap Sign Up placed at the bottom left side. A screen will appear where you enter the First and Last name of your choice. This is what your display name will appear as, described above. 
  3. Tap the Sign Up & Accept option to accept the Snapchat terms and conditions and proceed further.
  4. Now, enter your birthday only then, you will be able to enter your username (but, make sure you like it!).
  5. Then, create a password and enter your phone number (or email) for the confirmation of your account.

Re-Add Your Friends

Now, your account is created and you will also re-add your friends. Well, there are some diverse methods to do this. Right after you create your account, this app will enable you to add your friends who you have in your phone contacts (i.e., if you allow the app to access it). Also, below will be a Quick Add option that allows you to find friends from your old account that you can add again. When you have added the friends you can find them here. Then, continue to create a Bitmoji for your account. 

However, when you are in your new Snapchat account simply, go to your profile and scroll down to the Friends section. Now, tap Add Friends to add anybody manually who did not show up in your contacts. Also, Quick Add (i.e., where your old account may come in handy, to check the usernames of your friends).

Also see: How to Fix “No Internet, Secured” WiFi Error in Windows 11

Deleting Your Old Snapchat

You have now created a new Snapchat and a new username then, you have a few ways to proceed ahead. Either you can delete your old account or keep the multiple accounts to log into whenever you wish. 

However, you must remember that when you delete your old account then, you can’t find a way to access the snaps or chat logs you have in it. So, if you want to save any memories you have on your old account to your phone. Then, you can do this by swiping up the camera > click the checkmark icon placed on the top right to select multiple snaps > then, tap the Export option to save them to your camera roll. 

When done, do you have all the snaps saved and all your friends added? You can delete your account as per your own choice. To do so, follow the simple steps:

  1. Firstly, go to Snapchat’s account portal, enter the username and password for the account you want to delete. Also, you might need to enter a verification code via your phone or email.
  2. Click Continue so that your account will be deactivated for 30 days (keep in mind that during these days, your friends can’t be able to contact you via this account).
  3. After 30 days, if you do not log into the account again, it will be deleted permanently. (i.e., any data will be erased such as photos or videos). 

However, if you are not interested to be logged into your account but still want it available, you can always log out of it and choose to save your log-in info. Then, whenever you log out of your new account, you will still be able to log into your old one if you want.

Posted by
TechChalks

Admin at Tech Chalks, Love To Share My Experiences With the World of Tech Geeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.